A Whispered Secret

Why can’t I sense love???

Is it only me? Why is it that I am always the last to know of any secret crushes my friends have? And even that, I only get to know when she tells me herself! Just how dense am I?

The thin veil
Of suspended fabric
Tore away to reveal
A horrifying truth
Something that takes
Concentrated hours of observation
To understand on first sight
But to me it proved
Itself to be incomprehensible
I’m not experienced
Yet I should have
Foreseen this
It’s not the first time
Yet nothing penetrated
This deep into my mind
Or destroyed my peace
Of mind this much
I never expected this
And I know I’d have to
Get better at this mind game
Of identification
Or my life will soon
Be destroyed beyond recognition

Leave a Reply

