Realizing

I scoffed at shattered love

And tears shed by those left devastated

“Why, if I had a dollar for every time you broke

I’d be a millionaire!” I stated

 

My heartless and cruel taunts

To many an unrequited lover;

I never questioned my logic

Puppy love! Horror, oh horror!

 

I never realized, never thought

About the truth, its power;

The inside of a broken heart

Is like a grove full of withering flowers

 

As life went on, as teenage ensnared me

Only then did I realize painfully

That not far along my timeline

Love would creep into me

 

And slowly, I would truly start living.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

